Shopping Sucks

When I was younger going to the mall was awesome. At least once a month my friends and I would do some serious shopping, spending entire days inside.

These days, I can’t stand stepping one foot inside of a shopping mall for more than half an hour. It got me thinking, what changed so much in the last 5 years?
1. Disposable Income – When you’re young and in high school you really don’t have much to worry about monetarily aside from the newest pair of shoes. So that’s where most of my money went. Now that I have actual bills to pay, new kicks is the least of my worries.
2. Preferences – In high school I was a big jersey guy. No, not because I was a wannabe gangster and that was the fad at the time, but because I genuinely like collecting jerseys. I have since I was in 3rd grade. Though, during the “throwback” period I always want to be the first one to debut a hot new jersey, and then stuff it in the back of my closet never to wear again. I’m still in to jerseys, but not the ones you can find in Champs Sports anymore.
3. Monotonous – This might tie in to my preferences section, but malls are BORING. I went aimlessly wandering around a mall the other day for the first time in years. I could swear everything in every store was exactly the same as the last time I was there. Same stuff, different colour. I guess I never noticed this or cared when I was younger, but it’s all the same and it’s boring.
4. Scarcity – Malls are not made for men. The ratio of women’s-men’s stores in a typical mall has to be 8-1. At LEAST. Therefore, if I’m shopping with females, I’m going to spending a hell of a lot of time in stores I have no interest in. When it comes to men’s stores you have 3 basic styles. The athletic apparel store. The preppy American Eagle type store. Finally the Jersey Shore type store. This makes the ratio seem even worse because really, a guy can do all his shopping in 1-3 stores depending on his style.
When I was younger I always thought, why do older guys hate shopping so much, this is awesome. Well, I guess I’m growing up. Because shopping, sucks.
About Repo Man

Focused on world issues, local issues, offensive issues, and sports. On a mission to help make wrestling cool again.

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Blog, Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

