Yummy!


Meet my culinary Achilles heel. General Tso’s (some places spell is Tao) chicken. Its a Chinese dish consisting of chicken in a (usually) spicy sauce, mixed with steamed broccoli and rice. The best places serve it with veggie fried rice, but plain white will do the trick.

My issue is this: I’ve eaten this dish at probably 25 restaurants in and around the Greater Toronto Area and I have still yet to find that “go-to” spot for it. There used to be a joint by Yonge and Wellesley that was pretty bomb, but it’s closed down. There is also a nifty place in Windsor Ontario called “Dynasty” – if you are ever around those parts, check it out. Cheap, delicious and plentiful. I have yet to find a truly amazing place in Oakville, but the search continues.
Every place has a different, or special sauce. And I’ve tasted some downright TERRIBLE General’s chicken. I’ve gotten many of my friends hooked on this too, and many a night we’ll be drunk and in need of “The Generals.” I would put this under the category of ‘best drunk food ever’ along with pizza or a pita.
However, this certainly isn’t the healthiest dish in the world so try to limit yourself to once a month, TOPS. You have been warned though, it can turn in to an addiction.
About Repo Man

Focused on world issues, local issues, offensive issues, and sports. On a mission to help make wrestling cool again.

Posted on February 9, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have to give ya thumbs up on this one! There is a go to place here, but that does not help you much 😦 It's a big fav with my family and i do confess we order it more than once a month.

Leave a Reply

